Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KarateForums.com Forum Index -> Choosing a Martial Art, Comparing Styles, and Cross-Training
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

Shotokannon
Yellow Belt
Yellow Belt

Styles: Okinawan Karate, Shotokan, Traditional Jujutsu

PostPosted: Sun May 10, 2015 12:43 pm    Post subject: Going from Shotokan to Kickboxing Reply with quote

Hey Everyone,

I realise I've posted this before, but I didn't get an answer so I thought I'd post it again in a more appropriate place.

I've been doing Shotokan now for about 10 months, and I'm thinking of switching to Kickboxing, I just wanted to get some general opinions and information about this.

1. If you get a license at a karate club, would you need another one for Kickboxing?

2.I'm very apprehensive about leaving my current club;I like the people and I've been told I'm doing very well (being put forward for the EKF Kyu-grade national championships next year) and I really don't want to let my Sensei down.

3. having said the above, I really do feel like Kickboxing will give me the experience I want with regards to more sparring based than patterns/Kata based work.

4. How would I approach my Sensei about this, if I were to go through with it?

5. Would it be wise to continue both at the same time? this way if I don't like kickboxing I can go back to Karate and if I prefer Kickboxing, I can take that up instead!

Nidan Melbourne
KF Sempai
KF Sempai

Styles: Goju-Ryu, BJJ, Balintawak Arnis

PostPosted: Sun May 10, 2015 4:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

1. You can train in both or just kickboxing. Besides 'licences' are given when you sign up.

2. It is one thing to feel like you might let your sensei down. But is it more than just that?

3. Does your current school not do enough kumite/sparring? Just take into account Kumite is not the only thing that is important in class.