Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    KarateForums.com Forum Index -> Choosing a Martial Art, Comparing Styles, and Cross-Training
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

koreantiger81
Blue Belt
Blue Belt

PostPosted: Mon Jul 22, 2002 5:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm a tae kwon do stylist. I like to do I.t.f sparring. (non-olympic) In I.T.F sparring, you can punch to the head and also use kicks. well, i've moved to a new city. I can't find an I.T.F school. My 2nd choice is to look for a Karate school. I don't know much about Karate. All I know is you guys wear pants that don't fit u. (Why are your pants to your knees? Tradition???) Anyway, what kind of style of karate do you recommend me taking? Shotokan?goru???? waido kai????
also, do you do full contact or semi-contact sparring? and do you do continuous or point sparring? :???:

[ This Message was edited by: koreantiger81 on 2002-07-22 07:53 ]

Eye of the Tiger
Purple Belt
Purple Belt

PostPosted: Mon Jul 22, 2002 5:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Check out http://www.24fightingchickens.com
and go onto shotokan 101, and then click on what is Karate, and scroll down the page and gives you definitions of the different styles. Of and what do you mean pants that dont fit us?

You try saying that to a karate student and you'l see just what they can do with that style.

Taikudo-ka
Green Belt
Green Belt

PostPosted: Wed Jul 24, 2002 10:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

TKD came from Shotokan, so that could be your best bet. I believe it has evolved a bit though...