Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KarateForums.com Forum Index -> Introduce Yourself
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

DauntlessDruid
White Belt
White Belt

Styles: Isshinryu

PostPosted: Tue Jul 10, 2018 8:50 pm    Post subject: Hi from New York Reply with quote

Hi there everyone. Thought I'd introduce myself. I'm a woman from Upstate New York and a current Isshinryu practitioner. I've been studying Isshinryu for about two years, and I just became a San-Kyu (three belts away from Shodan) about a month ago. Prior to Isshinryu, I studied TKD when I was a kid, and Western Boxing, Muay Thai, and a (very) little BJJ in my early to mid-twenties.

I got back into martial arts a couple years ago to try and get back into shape and finding the gym boring. It's one of the best things I've ever done as the Dojo I belong to is very much like a big extended family and the people there are great along with it being really fun.

Himokiri Karate
Member of the Month
Member of the Month

Styles: Boxing, Korean Karate

PostPosted: Tue Jul 10, 2018 9:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi and welcome. I am from Vancouver and I mainly practice boxing but am very fond of Karate. I envy your location, you guys have incredible boxing gym like gleason.

Besides Isshinryu, have you tried other karate styles and if so, how do you find them different with one another?

DauntlessDruid
White Belt
White Belt

Styles: Isshinryu

PostPosted: Wed Jul 11, 2018 12:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Himokiri Karate wrote:
Hi and welcome. I am from Vancouver and I mainly practice boxing but am very fond of Karate. I envy your location, you guys have incredible boxing gym like gleason.

Besides Isshinryu, have you tried other karate styles and if so, how do you find them different with one another?