Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KarateForums.com Forum Index -> Martial Arts Weapons
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

mazzybear
Brown Belt
Brown Belt

Styles: Wado Kai

PostPosted: Mon Mar 10, 2014 12:24 pm    Post subject: How should samurai swords be displayed? Reply with quote

I was recently in a friend of a friend's house at a party, this guy had a 3 tier samurai sword rack on display (just a cheap ornament type as opposed to real weopons) I told him he was displaying them wrong, which he seemed to take offence to. He had them katana at the top and tanto at the bottom with all 3 having the blade edge downwards. I told him it should be Tanto to the top, Katana to the bottom and blade edge upward with handles to the left. I'm no expert on this but sure I read somewhere it was all to do with the order a Samurai would attatch each weapon to his armour and how the sword would be drawn. He basically told me I was talking nonsense (personally I think he just didn't like being corrected by a woman ) Am i right in what I said, or am I indeed talking nonsense?

M.

SteyrAUG
Orange Belt
Orange Belt

PostPosted: Mon Mar 10, 2014 2:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Generally cutting edge up with the katana on top.

But there are lots of considerations. How one displayed their Daisho often was an indicator of the threat assessment of their area (sort of a Bushi Defcon system if you will) and / or an indicator of how much they actually trusted their present company.

Older Tachi are often seen displayed cutting edge down and that is how they were worn suspended from the belt. There are lots of conventions but not really rules. Most people tend to subscribe to the notion of cutting edge up protects the cutting edge of the blade. And now you will often see Tachi displayed in that manner as well.