Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

KwicKixJ1
Orange Belt
Orange Belt

Styles: Taekwondo, Shorin Ryu, Shudokan, Muay Thai

PostPosted: Tue Jun 22, 2021 2:51 pm    Post subject: How to learn kata that your style doesn't teach? Reply with quote

I'm a HUGE kata fan. Even before I started training karate and did mainly taekwondo I absolutely loved all things kata from all styles and all countries. Seeing a practitioner on their own just mastering movement, power, balance, speed, it still gets me just as excited as it did over twenty years ago when I first started training.

With the large number of styles in karate, what would be the best way to learn kata outside of your given style? Many people are limited by geography, and trying to learn a kata off the internet is possible, but it'd be so much better to learn and ask questions from someone who truly understands it.

I'd love to explore Papuren, Nipaipo, Anan, and the Uechi-Ryu version of Seisan specifically. I train at a Shorin Ryu school and their version of Seisan is VERY different from the Uechi-Ryu version.

Zaine
Black Belt
Black Belt

Styles: Matsumura-Seito, Shobayashi-Ryu, Shudokan, Long Fist, American Street Karate, Southern Mantis, HEMA

PostPosted: Tue Jun 22, 2021 3:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

More than that, Seisan can be wildly different in different branches of Shorin Ryu. Shorinji does is a little differently from Shobayashi.

The best way outside of YouTube would be to get a bunch of people together and have some good old fashioned work shops. I actually think that this would be a really cool and fun idea.

https://www.instagram.com/nordic_karate/

KwicKixJ1
Orange Belt
Orange Belt

PostPosted: Tue Jun 22, 2021 3:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Zaine wrote: