Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

Drasik
White Belt
White Belt

PostPosted: Mon Apr 20, 2015 3:10 pm    Post subject: How to practice karate on your own? Reply with quote

Hi! I've been practicing for a few months with a sensei, but things are really quick there and I don't have the time to get a technique and learn it. So I started practicing myself as well but I'm still confused and find it hard to progress.
At this point I've learnt Choku Zuki pretty well, but I can't connect the hands with the hip move. And I'm not sure how to practice the hip move separately.
Also, how should I approach the punching bag?
I can hit it correctly a few times, but I don't know how to practice with it correctly and get to keeping a rhythm at least.
I want to go slowly, step by step from the basic stuff and make sure I'm doing everything right. Could anyone please advice, how it's better to practice on my own and learn the techniques from getting the basic moves to being able to get more advanced with a punching bag? Thank you!

Wastelander
KF Sensei
KF Sensei

Styles: Shorin-Ryu, Shuri-Ryu, Judo, KishimotoDi

PostPosted: Mon Apr 20, 2015 3:47 pm    Post subject: Re: How to practice karate on your own? Reply with quote

Drasik wrote:
Hi! I've been practicing for a few months with a sensei, but things are really quick there and I don't have the time to get a technique and learn it. So I started practicing myself as well but I'm still confused and find it hard to progress.
At this point I've learnt Choku Zuki pretty well, but I can't connect the hands with the hip move. And I'm not sure how to practice the hip move separately.
Also, how should I approach the punching bag?
I can hit it correctly a few times, but I don't know how to practice with it correctly and get to keeping a rhythm at least.