Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

Kohi
White Belt
White Belt

Styles: Shotokan Karate, Muay Thai

PostPosted: Sat Oct 14, 2017 12:10 pm    Post subject: I'd like to say hi! Reply with quote

Hello everyone! I just registered in this forum and, first of all, I'd like to kindly introduce myself. You can adress me as Kohi and I've been doing martial arts for a few years now. I was looking for an internet forum where to share experiences with other practitioners and have fun. Pleased to meet you all!

So, here's the deal. One of the reasons I registered was because I'm having doubts about where to take my martial arts learning from now on. You see, I started training roughly a few months before getting into college. Got into Shotokan Karate, really enjoyed it at first, though I couldn't train as much as I'd like because of all the time my studies sucked up.

If I had been born before the internet, or if I wasn't such a curious person by nature, perhaps I would have been happy just sticking with what I was doing. But that didn't happen. I like to research, to try new things and meet new people, to broaden my experience. That's why since my very first years of martial arts life I would always like to spend time browsing the internet, reading books about the matter, making friends with people who practised other styles, and just trying to get as wide and enrichening a perspective as possible. That attitude didn't fit well in my Karate Dojo, where the mentality was more of the "do as you are told" kind.