Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    KarateForums.com Forum Index -> Martial Arts Weapons
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

username237
Orange Belt
Orange Belt

PostPosted: Mon Jun 10, 2002 6:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have been training in karate for almost 12 years and have only recently decided that I want to learn how to use a few weapons, starting with the nunchaku (if thats how its spelt!) However i've been going to my library to get some books/videos on where to start and I cant find anything!! Does anyone know any good websites for some advice, or better still, has anyone here got any useful tips for me!? Is there any decent books/vids that I should look out for??
Thanks guys!

Bitseach
Green Belt
Green Belt

PostPosted: Mon Jun 10, 2002 7:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Joanne I'm in exactly the same boat as you and have recently bought some training 'chucks. My first advice - BUY FOAM ONES! 'Chucks really hurt when your arms start to fatigue and your swing deteriorates to the point that you crack yourself on the head. Even the foam ones nearly concussed me one time!

There's quite a good site linked from another discussion which should give you some ideas - I'll find it and be back in a mo! Here we are: http://soulgrind22.homestead.com/ Definitely worth a look, although beware that the vids take a while to download, even on a T3 line so if you're using a regular modem you'll be online for an age!

Otherwise, Fumio Demura's books give a good (but a bit dull!) starting point. Apparently the second one has some katas, which I would like to learn - the first one is really basic and covers grips etc.

Finally, as if you need reminding (!) don't carry them around in the street as they're classed as an offensive weapon and you'll be prosecuted in the bat of an eye!