Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

OneKickWonder
Purple Belt
Purple Belt

Styles: Tang soo do

PostPosted: Sat Jun 16, 2018 9:52 am    Post subject: If I go to shotokan Reply with quote

If I go to shotokan, I fully accept that I'll be a complete beginner in that style, despite years of tang soo do, and wado and other styles prior.

Tang soo do is, in theory at least, very heavily influenced by shotokan. In fact some say TSD is just shotokan with more emphasis on kicks.

That being the case, if I go to shotokan, what should the etiquette be? Let's say on my first class, they ask us to do, for example, high block from front stance. Do I do my best TSD high block from front stance and wait to be corrected if necessary? Or would I plead ignorant and wait to be shown their interpretation of said techniques and postures?

I want to show that I'm open to new ideas and their way of training. While at the same time I don't want to be tedious with them if their way is almost identical to the way I'm already familiar with.

shortyafter
Orange Belt
Orange Belt

Styles: Kyokushinkai, Shotokan

PostPosted: Sat Jun 16, 2018 12:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Look at the guys besides you.

This was ingrained in me as a white belt at my first dojo. It sounds stupidly simple but you'd be amazed at how many new students or even advanced students learning something new will just sit there cluelessly instead of following what everybody else is doing. Surely you're not one of those clueless guys but I think the same mantra applies to you - just follow what everybody else is doing.

The subtler things like how exactly to move your feet, hips, etc. IMO just do your best based off what you've been trained and wait to be corrected if necessary.

That's how I would play it.

pers
Purple Belt
Purple Belt

Styles: shotokan