Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    KarateForums.com Forum Index -> Choosing a Martial Art, Comparing Styles, and Cross-Training
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

Rs-Apocolypse
White Belt
White Belt

PostPosted: Mon May 13, 2002 2:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hey everyone, i was wondering if one of you guys could help me. Im 17 now, when i was little (ages 9-10 1/2) i studied shotocan. Now i want to get back into martial arts. I want a style that is mostly arms and not so much legs, and more offensive. Im 6'4 and thin. Is there a style out there that will fit this?

monkeygirl
KF VIP

Styles: Tae Kwon Do

PostPosted: Mon May 13, 2002 3:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Since you're new, they'll probably let this slide
Just so you know, questions like these go under "General Martial Arts". When they say "Questions, Comments..." they mean relating to the site and message board system itself.
Getting to your question. Traditional Karate is a good style that uses mostly hands and nearly no kicks. However, keep an open mind to kicking. Unless you have a medical reason for not wanting to use your legs, having a well-balanced body can be very useful. I study what I like to call "Modern-American Tae Kwon Do". We call ourselves a karate studio, but karate is a generic term. We use mostly TKD with blending of krav maga, judo, kung fu, etc. I love this style.
Most people on here (including myself!) will tell you that their style is the best. Just make sure you keep in mind what you want to achieve from martial arts, listen to their descriptions, and see if the two match.
Good luck!

No matter the tune...if you can rock it, rock it hard.

KickChick
Black Belt
Black Belt

PostPosted: Mon May 13, 2002 4:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote