Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KarateForums.com Forum Index -> Instructors and School Owners
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

reddragonkaratecrewe
White Belt
White Belt

Styles: shotokan

PostPosted: Sat Feb 18, 2017 3:32 pm    Post subject: instructor training Reply with quote

Hi,

I'm one of 3 dan grades at a new independent club. We have everything in place (insurances, first aid, safeguarding etc), but I've been asked about instructor training.

I've read posts and articles about the pro's and con's of it and wanted your opinions, is it worth it?

Myself and another dan grade have got -
First aid training (I'm an instructor)
Safeguarding certificates (again I'm a safeguard trainer)
PTTLS (QCF as it's now know) so have a basic teaching qualification
We do lesson plans
Club advertising and finances
Minimum of 12 years karate training each

Is there anything else that we would need? seems pointless to spend money on a certificate to cover what we already have in place, minus a certificate.

thanks in advance

www.reddragonkarate.co.uk

ashworth
Brown Belt
Brown Belt

Styles: Shotokan, IJR Karate, Iaido, Kobudo

PostPosted: Sun Feb 19, 2017 5:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello,

Welcome to the forum, who is it that has asked about instructor training?

Sounds like you have pretty much everything set up that you need, are you affiliated to an organisation? If so they may offer some kind of coaching course which doesn't hurt. When I start up my club I went along and got a national coaching award from the organisation I was part of. I had already had instructor training from the previous club that I was part of, but it was good for the experience.