Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KarateForums.com Forum Index -> General Martial Arts Discussion
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

XtremeTrainer
Yellow Belt
Yellow Belt

PostPosted: Sat Sep 01, 2018 9:29 pm    Post subject: Is Jake Mace reliable? Reply with quote

Does anybody know if Jake Mace is reliable as a good source for knowledge in the martial arts? He makes lots of youtube videos, particularly ones that focus on kung fu and various forms of kung fu. Anybody familiar with him? Anybody know if he's any good?

mushybees
Orange Belt
Orange Belt

Styles: Wado ryu

PostPosted: Sat Sep 01, 2018 11:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There are martial artists who use youtube to good effect and there are youtubers who use martial arts to good effect.

I have no experience in chinese arts so I won't comment on his martial ability or his ability to teach. I will say I've watched a few videos and it's all avout liking and subscribing for ad revenue and buying his online course.

RW
Green Belt
Green Belt

PostPosted: Sun Sep 02, 2018 8:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'd defer to somebody who knows more about kung fu, but I can't help having the impression he couldn't fight his way out of a paper bag

Spartacus Maximus
Black Belt
Black Belt

Styles: Shorin ryu

PostPosted: Sun Sep 02, 2018 7:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There are many more people who are more knowledgeable and skilled than Jake Mace. Unfortunately, few of those people are as good at promoting themselves on the net.

OneKickWonder
Purple Belt
Purple Belt

Styles: Tang soo do

PostPosted: Mon Sep 03, 2018 11:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote