Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

Gratia
White Belt
White Belt

Styles: Shorin Ryu

PostPosted: Mon Sep 22, 2014 1:48 am    Post subject: Is this normal? Reply with quote

Hi everybody! I just registered in this site hoping to find answers and help. I'm a newbie in training Martial Arts but I have been dreaming of it ever since I was a kid. Unfortunately I only started at the age of 24 and its been only 3 months since I started training. And now, almost all day I can't stop thinking about karate. Even at night, if I accidentally open my eyes, my arms move on their own blocking and punching. And not only that, I don't know if this is weird, I have been learning techniques, and each technique that I learn, I'm getting more and more afraid with respect to how deadly the technique is. Is this normal?

sensei8
KF Sensei
KF Sensei

Styles: Shindokan Saitou-ryu [Shuri-te/Okinawa-te based]

PostPosted: Mon Sep 22, 2014 10:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Let me start by welcoming you to KF; glad that you're here!!

Is what you're feeling normal? My short answer: YES!! Some act similar while others don't and others even more so!! Overall...YES!!

There's nothing wrong with your actions and thoughts and all concerning the MA. After a trillion years, I still do the same exact thing as you've described. My every waking moment involves me doing and/or thinking about the MA in some capacity or another.

WHY?

You're slowly falling in love with what the MA is meaning to you. And, with everything that you love about the MA, you'll have moments where you hate the MA; a love and hate relationship with the MA is normal.

Your MA journey is just that...YOURS!! You decide! You control! You...you...you...because the MA journey must be personal, and oftentimes, private to the practitioner.