Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    KarateForums.com Forum Index -> BJJ, Judo, Jujitsu, Aikido, and Grappling Martial Arts
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

G95champ
Black Belt
Black Belt

Styles: Shotokan Karate (FSKA)

PostPosted: Sat Apr 06, 2002 9:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am a karate person by trade but I did fool arround with some Ju-Jitsu in 1998-2000. My teacher taught a method where we used a lot of pressure points while on the ground. I have not found many styles that focus on that as he did. It that normal?

He stressed taht there were 7 stages to the fight on the ground.

1. Where are you at? Meaning what can you do what can be done to you.
2. Stake in the Center. Meaning you and the one you are fighting are connected at the belly by a invisiable stake do't seperate unless you can finsih the fight.
3. Find the open sport. If you are in a lock, choke, crank, etc get out of it.
4. Rest. plan what to do and regroup.
5. Attack. Use you plan.
6. React. Based on if he acts first or his reaction to your advance.
7. Finish. End the fight with your attack or reaction ot his counterattack.

He stressed these stages were not set in stone. One could go from any number to the other and back and forth.

I have not been any other Ju-Jitsu schools there are not any in Southren West Virginia. However after viewsing a few tapes by the Gracie family and others I have not see the focus on pressure points as he done. Is this a common practice for grapplers?

Thanks
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger

Bon
Black Belt
Black Belt

Styles: BJJ, Kickboxing

PostPosted: Sat Apr 06, 2002 11:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What do you mean by 'pressure points' exactly ?