Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KarateForums.com Forum Index -> Share Your Testing, Grading, or Promotion
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

Kwon_Artist
White Belt
White Belt

Styles: Shotokan Karate, Judo.

PostPosted: Mon Jun 01, 2015 3:12 pm    Post subject: Just got my 9th Kyu... Reply with quote

Hello! Basically I have just passed my first grading and not I am an orange belt.
I am quite new to Karate and have been doing Shotokan-Ryu for about 3 months now and there are a couple of questions I would like to ask!
I am with the JKAE (Japan Karate Association England) and basically my instructor didn't grade me but the grading was a set location where practitioners from different clubs were also grading in the same location as me, what do people think about this kind of system? Do you think this is more beneficial than having your own instructor grade you? In all of the Martial Arts I've done, Karate is the only one where I've graded this way, so it's a new experience for me.
Another question is that on my first grade, my instructor said I might be able to double grade if they let me, but they didn't let me and a couple of other people did double grade! What was I doing wrong for them to not double grade me? Even though I did everything right and they said I did a very good grade at the end when they told me I had passed?
Also, it looks like you can half grade as I saw many people with orange belts and white stripes through the middle and I think I saw it was called a Kari grade? what do Kari grades mean? Does that mean they only think you've done half the job and not the full job of passing?
Last thing: what does Osu/Oss mean? does it mean yes? If so, then why do we not just say 'Hai'?
Sorry for my questions, I'm quite new to Karate and I want to know more about how things work within my organisation!
Thank You!

Montana
Pre-Black Belt