Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

kcconnor
White Belt
White Belt

Styles: Shotokan, Shudokan

PostPosted: Sun Feb 22, 2009 9:53 pm    Post subject: Karate Politics? Reply with quote

Does anyone have any insight into the plight of Shotokan Karate politics over the last 20 years?

I started training back in 1990 under Shotokan, a traditional Japanese Karate school. I was 12 years old when I started. My parents moved when I was 15 (obviously I moved too) and I shifted to a slightly different school... an Okinawan one known as Shudokan. Still descended from one of the original Okinawan masters, Itosu. Same techniques, same and similar kata, just different focus on the order of learning and different politics.

Funakoshi, the founder of Shotokan ("Shoto" was his pen name when writing poetry) was always a very politically astute man.

I got my Shodan (1st degree black belt) in 1995. I lived and breathed Karate. I was in the dojo perhaps 30-35 hours a week, either training or as an assistant instructor. I competed in tournaments and did very well... I was one of the dojo-rats that was one of the ones to beat just about anywhere.

When I was done with high school and went to college, I was lucky enough to have 4 other classmates my freshman year that were all passionate and skilled martial artists. Judo, Ju-jutsu, Tae Kwon Do, Shao Lin Kung Fu... we all saw eye to eye and approached the student union about starting a martial arts club on campus.

For four years the 5 of us ran our own little micro-dojos. The group fell apart when we all graduated... evidently it was extremely odd to have that many senior martial artists in a freshman class, and no more came to replace us. Such is life.