Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

LastKing
Yellow Belt
Yellow Belt

Styles: Freestyle karate, kickboxing, tai chi

PostPosted: Sun Sep 01, 2019 9:43 am    Post subject: Knee friendly karate? Reply with quote

So I've injured my knee -. Twice in four months. Meniscus tear, not debilitating but aggravated by Zenkutsudatchi, Kiba datchi and any of the standard kicks. According to doc I need to lay off anything which stresses it for at least 6 months, and even then, may just be at an age where my knee will not take the kind of hammer I'm used to it taking now. At first I thought it was curtains for karate, but am wondering if I can modify my style (currently shotokan based freesyle) by at least finding kata which is free of kicks and long stance.

It's a frustration as I've been doing karate for six years now, and was training for 1st dan when I tore my knee.

Any one been in the same boat?

Anyone got a list of knee friendly kata?

Alan Armstrong
Black Belt
Black Belt

PostPosted: Sun Sep 01, 2019 4:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

LastKing wrote:
So I've injured my knee -. Twice in four months. Meniscus tear, not debilitating but aggravated by Zenkutsudatchi, Kiba datchi and any of the standard kicks. According to doc I need to lay off anything which stresses it for at least 6 months, and even then, may just be at an age where my knee will not take the kind of hammer I'm used to it taking now. At first I thought it was curtains for karate, but am wondering if I can modify my style (currently shotokan based freesyle) by at least finding kata which is free of kicks and long stance.

It's a frustration as I've been doing karate for six years now, and was training for 1st dan when I tore my knee.

Any one been in the same boat?

Anyone got a list of knee friendly kata?
I have been in your same boat LastKing.