Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

Gazhudson18
White Belt
White Belt

Styles: okinawan goju ryu

PostPosted: Sat Oct 27, 2018 8:15 am    Post subject: Makiwara training Reply with quote

Hi everybody. I have just made a makiwara and was just wondering if anybody has any idea how long and how many sessions I should be doing as a complete beginner to the makiwara

sensei8
KF Sensei
KF Sensei

Styles: Shindokan Saitou-ryu [Shuri-te/Okinawa-te based]

PostPosted: Sat Oct 27, 2018 9:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

As a beginner, imho, one should NOT train the makiwara without the direct supervision of ones instructor. As a matter of fact, a beginner should concentrate far much more on anything else besides the makiwara; that's for a time much later.

There are far much better tools to strike than a makiwara for beginners; perhaps a hanging bag or BOB.

Makiwara requires a undeniable understanding about posture, balance, and proper execution of said technique, just for starting; otherwise, a many things will suffer beside your wreck body, hands particularly.

The makiwara needs to be approached with total respect, first and foremost!!

Gazhudson18
White Belt
White Belt

Styles: okinawan goju ryu

PostPosted: Sun Oct 28, 2018 2:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you very much for your reply. I am currently a black belt and have been training for nearly 8 years. I have never used the makiwara for the reasons you stated (I feel like I’ve only just grasped the basics!) could you please tell me the benefits of makiwara training from your personal experience.

Bulltahr
Brown Belt
Brown Belt

Styles: Shotokan, Seido Juku

PostPosted: Sun Oct 28, 2018 2:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote