Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KarateForums.com Forum Index -> General Martial Arts Discussion
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

sensei8
KF Sensei
KF Sensei

Styles: Shindokan Saitou-ryu [Shuri-te/Okinawa-te based]

PostPosted: Mon Oct 12, 2009 9:13 am    Post subject: Martial Arts and the Law! Reply with quote

This topic, Martial Arts and the Law, will be debated by laymen forever. Even though laws concerning the martial arts vary from state to state, the advise of experts in the field of Law and/or Law Enforcement and the like mustn't be ignored for obvious reasons. I, myself, am NOT an expert in Law and/or Law Enforcement and the like, therefore, while I'm aware of many laws concerning the martial arts, this by no means should be taken as I'm an expert in Law and/or Law Enforcement.

Therefore, here are some links that might or might not answer some question(s) still on debate here at KF and/or anywhere else for that matter of fact...

**This first link is authored by Ivan Mendez, is a police detective in the state of New Jersey with 11 years of law enforcement experience. He also holds a 4th degree Black belt in American Karate with 21 years of martial arts experience.
http://www.martialartcentral.com/M.a.c/Articles/11.htm

**This next one is David Kaufman who combines doctorates in law and economics with 40 years experience in the martial arts. Mr. Kaufman, in addition to being an Adjunct Professor of Law at George Mason University School of Law, is a 6th Degree Black Belt in Mu Duk Kwon Tang Soo Do, holds 5th Degree Black Belts in Kendo and Iaido, and is a Kodokan-trained Judoka. He operated his own Dojo for 10 years.
http://www.karatelaw.com/

**This next one is an essay written by Geoffrey Sasso, Shodan Cultural Essay, 3/3/04, Titled: A Martial Artist's Role in the Legal System.
http://www.loyola.edu/maru/Martial%20Art%20Law.html