Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KarateForums.com Forum Index -> General Martial Arts Discussion
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

Whisky147
Yellow Belt
Yellow Belt

Styles: Kung fu

PostPosted: Wed Jan 18, 2017 3:22 pm    Post subject: Missing classes due to work reasons Reply with quote

Hi folks,

I am looking at getting back into MA after a good few years break, but one of my concerns is- i am looking at working for the ambulance service which as you can imagine will involve all sorts of crazy and varied shift hours, so there may be times when i wont be able to attend classes for the entire week/days absent here and there. How do instructors feel about students that have sporadic attendances or cannot achieve 100% attendance?

I would hate for an instructor to think that i was a lazy student/not interested in training etc when to be honest i would love to train everyday if it was possible!

Would this sort of thing affect my training too much or how the instructor would view me as a student?

LLLEARNER
Brown Belt
Brown Belt

PostPosted: Wed Jan 18, 2017 4:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I feel most instructors would understand your work schedule. If you are committed and train in your off time then the result will show on the floor, if not, that will show too. It might take longer to get your next belt due to less in class time.

"Walk a single path, becoming neither cocky with victory nor broken with defeat, without forgetting caution when all is quiet or becoming frightened when danger threatens." ~ Jigaro Kano

bushido_man96
KF Sensei
KF Sensei

Styles: Taekwondo, Combat Hapkido, Aikido, GRACIE, Police Krav Maga, SPEAR

PostPosted: Wed Jan 18, 2017 5:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

LLLEARNER wrote: