Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KarateForums.com Forum Index -> Choosing a Martial Art, Comparing Styles, and Cross-Training
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

Bushido Brown
White Belt
White Belt

PostPosted: Tue May 10, 2011 5:29 pm    Post subject: Movement Reply with quote

I should say that my specific interest is in comparing movement (rather broadly speaking) as found in karate-do and kung fu, Shaolin kung fu in particular. I am well aware of the broadness of these terms, but they serve for my purposes.

Allow me to put my query into some context. I am a noob. For the past six or seven months, I have sought out local martial arts schools in various styles searching for a place that might fit my needs. I observed classes, participated in classes, and exchanged a non-trivial number of emails with several sensei and sifu in the area. Being overweight and extremely sedentary for the vast majority of my life, one of the aspects of martial arts training that most intrigues me in the immediate sense is simply the ability and knowledge regarding movement. Simple control over one's body and the ability to move in ways relevant to martial arts (as well as other things).

That being said, I've begun to notice a seeming systematic difference between the practice of karate-do and kung fu in the places that I've visited. It appears to me that kung fu (and I do not mean what we've come to call wushu, but rather explicitly martial kung fu) training involves a much greater deal of focus on movement, flexibility, intimate control over muscles and reflexes than does training in karate-do. I wonder if this is a phenomenon that seems to be true more generally, or if it is simply the artifact of a limited viewpoint.