Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

Joppe
White Belt
White Belt

Styles: Shotokan, MMA

PostPosted: Mon Dec 09, 2013 1:10 pm    Post subject: My story. Want to start training karate, but I'm confused Reply with quote

I have been lurking in the forum for a while, and finding many post very helpful. Hopefully I can get some good feedback and answers to my situation.

I have always been interested in MA, and have always had a wish to reach a level in a MA where I master the basics and the training becomes a integrated part of my life.

Now I have decided to really do something about my dreams. I'm not getting younger (36 now) and I'm not getting in good shape (now 6'4" and 240lbs) by just dreaming. Now is the time for action.

15 years ago I started training Aikido. I loved it. Expecially the fokus on the mind. Finding peace and calmness in your mind, at the same time as getting in shape, is exactly what I want.

The dojo had gradings once a year. I worked hard and was looking forward to being tested and beeing recognized for what I had learned.
Two months before the grading, I got sick (bad flu combined with asthma) and had to take a break for 3 weaks. After the break I was motivated and working even harder to reach my first goal. A week before the grading, my sensai told me that my 3 week pause, disqualifid me for the grading, and that I should take a break and start with the new beginners the following year. I felt like 1 years of hard training 2-3 days a week, was a waste and I quit. My dreams of MA were gone. I felt disrespected and treated like dirt.

Some years later the dream of MA returned. This time I went to a Iado/Kendo dojo and got my motivation back. It was a great MA, but just as my motivation came back and my dream was alive, the dojo closed down because of bad leadership and economical problems.