Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KarateForums.com Forum Index -> General Martial Arts Discussion
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

Theochh
White Belt
White Belt

PostPosted: Sat Jul 27, 2019 5:42 am    Post subject: Once a Shodan Reply with quote

Hi All

I would love to hear your thoughts and opinions on the following.

At the age of 18 I achieved the grade of 1st Dan in Shotokan karate. I had been training for approx 6-7 years. I then stopped training, not because I fell out of love with karate but life in general changes things.

Now at the young age of 46 I want to get back into it. I’ve been to a couple of different clubs (in a white belt) and the Senseis have been impressed with my ability to perform basics and the way I have been able to recall katas. My form, timing and power are all there but sadly I’m less flexible.

What’s the general consensus regarding the following questions:-

1. Continue to train and start from scratch, take the full term and grade each belt?
2. Enquire about an accelerated grading program and regrade for my black belt sooner rather than later?

Thanks for taking the time to read this.

PS- great forum “karateforums”

sensei8
KF Sensei
KF Sensei

Styles: Shindokan Saitou-ryu [Shuri-te/Okinawa-te based]

PostPosted: Sat Jul 27, 2019 10:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Welcome to KF, Theochh; glad that you're here!!

What does your heart tell you?? Accept that which your heart expresses, and go with your heart!!

Are you wanting to continue in Shotokan??
Are you wanting to rejoin your last governing body??