Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KarateForums.com Forum Index -> Instructors and School Owners
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

333kenshin
White Belt
White Belt

PostPosted: Thu Jan 09, 2020 7:41 am    Post subject: opening a dojo - buying a struggling traditional school Reply with quote

Hi,
I'm a black belt karate instructor looking to opening a studio of my own to teach full time. I live in a large city that is already pretty densely packed with martial arts schools, so competition is a big concern.

At the same time, I believe many traditional martial arts schools are struggling financially and in a slow-motion death spiral as the popularity of MMA rises and as modern tech, social media, and culture makes "traditional" studios hard to relate to, especially if run by a 1st-generation Korean or Japanese master with weak English.

As such, I would like to identify and approach such struggling businesses to buy or partner with. As a younger, US-born instructor with real-world experience beyond martial arts (I'm a software engineer and have lived abroad twice) I think I can articulate the case for traditional martial arts to younger students and their parents, rejuvenating some of these struggling older studios.

The challenges:
- how to identify such struggling schools
- how to approach them respectfully

Any suggestions would be welcome.
Thanks!
-Dave

sensei8
KF Sensei
KF Sensei

Styles: Shindokan Saitou-ryu [Shuri-te/Okinawa-te based]

PostPosted: Thu Jan 09, 2020 9:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Welcome to KF, 333kenshin; glad that you're here!!

With what you've described, you've a challenge before you. However, not an impossible challenge across the board. Competition is healthy and necessary because it's a business barometer...and imho, any school of the MAist IS a business, and much be treated accordingly as such.