Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KarateForums.com Forum Index -> General Martial Arts Discussion
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

USCMAAI
Orange Belt
Orange Belt

Styles: Combat Karate, Kenpo,Jujitsu, and Boxing

PostPosted: Fri May 18, 2007 5:38 pm    Post subject: Plastic Tigers Reply with quote

Besides being a martial arts instructor, I also work as a counselor with sex offenders and the other mentally ill inmates in a maximum-security prison. Every so often something happens that I can directly relate the martial arts. I was talking with an inmate who was convicted of rape. This inmate was telling me about his crime, and how he found himself obsessed with his victim and began stalking her. He continued his story stating that he even joined the martial arts school, where his victim was a black belt and had won several local and regional tournaments. I asked the inmate if her martial arts ability caused him any problems, and he stated “I knew she wasn’t tough, and that I could beat her.” I asked him why he thought he would be able to beat her, and was told “When sparring in class, no one was allowed to punch to the head or face; and we were always being warned about using too much force. I was also a pretty good wrestler in high school and they always stopped sparring if the students went to the ground.” I asked the inmate if the system that he was training in was advertised as a “system of self-defense” or”sport karate” and he stated that he wasn’t sure, but remembered his victim teaching “self-defense” classes and in class doing “one, two and three step sparring”. Without going into too many specifics the assault occurred when the inmate went over to the victims home one evening while she was gone, broke into the house and assaulted her as she was coming into the house from her garage. The assault was relatively easy, according to t