Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KarateForums.com Forum Index -> Instructors and School Owners
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

MatsuShinshii
Black Belt
Black Belt

Styles: Machimura Suidi Rokudan, Ryukyu Kenpo, Kobudo, Judo

PostPosted: Wed Nov 23, 2016 5:17 pm    Post subject: Principles, Are they the same today? Reply with quote

I started the arts with no ideals in mind other than I wanted to learn how to defend myself.

As a few years went by the principles of my teacher where imprinted and my mindset changed. As a student I wanted to learn all I could and improve my skill so that one day I could teach and pass on these same ideals and principles to my students.

Skip years ahead, I began teaching and my thoughts were only to learn all that I could and pass on all that I had learned so that one day the flame could be passed on to a new torch that would carry it on to the next generation.

I was talking with a friend and he was talking about a subservient coworker and how useless he was because he did not know this or that. I asked him if he had taken the time to teach this coworker the things he was complaining about. His comment was "why waste my time".
I asked him other questions about this coworker and he said that he did fine in his job tasks but did not have the knowledge to perform the skills to get to the next step up.
I asked why he wasn't willing to help this person and his answer hit me with a revelation of my teachings. He said "why should I take my time to teach someone something that could move him closer to my job"?