Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KarateForums.com Forum Index -> Introduce Yourself
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

BeldarTheBrave
White Belt
White Belt

Styles: Tracy's Kenpo Karate, Chinese Kenpo Karate

PostPosted: Sat Jul 03, 2021 8:51 pm    Post subject: Returned to Kenpo After a Long Break Reply with quote

Hello everyone!

When I was much younger, in my teens, I studied Chinese Kenpo for roughly 5 to 6 years. At that time I didn't really have the interest or focus to study the history of the art I was practicing as I started when I was a kid. To me, that was just the karate that my family practiced and I loved it. Due to life events and adulthood, I ended up quitting before I was out of my teens.

Fast forward past college and establishing a career, I started to miss what I had back then. So, I started to do some research. It looks like what I studied back then was an early branch of Parker kenpo similar to, but not exactly the same as, Tracy's Kenpo. It had 30 techniques per belt, usually two kata per rank, sparring was pretty much required, etc. I really enjoyed it.

I decided to join a new dojo, regain what I lost, and eliminate my college aquired obesity that I never corrected. Near where I currently live there are at least 4 different Kenpo schools. I had a positive gut feeling about one of the Tracy's schools and I went to check them out.

It was a fantastic decision!

This dojo is basically directors cut Kenpo from people who trained back in the 70s. They train the classic kenpo self defense techniques, but my current instructor is giving a moral of the story for each one he decides to teach. He also isn't stressing the ones he feels are less effective. They are also training us in effective sport fighting techniques (in case we choose to compete) and adapting a bit of modern feeling hand and footwork.