Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KarateForums.com Forum Index -> Kung Fu, JKD, Wing Chun, Tai Chi, and Chinese Martial Arts
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

Bushido Brown
White Belt
White Belt

PostPosted: Thu May 12, 2011 3:34 pm    Post subject: Seeking Short- and Long-term Advice Reply with quote

I'm at the very beginning of what I intend to be a long-term study of martial arts. I'm trying to decide exactly what to pursue; to determine what will be best given my short- and long-term goals. To do that, I'll try to describe my current thoughts on the matter and solicit any advice you (the reader) might be willing to give.

I'm 25, fat, and just emerging from a quarter century of very sedentary living. I have never been in a physical fight, nor have I seen (in person) a fight involving any sort of mortal danger. I studied shudokan karate for about three months before decided that my physical condition was insufficient to seriously learn martial arts for combat (along with some fairly serious social anxiety, but that's another story )

Ultimately, I'm looking for the full range from studying martial arts: character development, health, martial ability, etc. In the short-term (over the next year, lets say) my focus is strongly on health and character; fitness, mobility, self-confidence, etc.