Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KarateForums.com Forum Index -> Instructors and School Owners
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

OneKickWonder
Purple Belt
Purple Belt

Styles: Tang soo do

PostPosted: Sat Jul 21, 2018 7:16 am    Post subject: Self defense drills Reply with quote

While larking about with my kids and their friends, the Nerf guns came out. Or one of them did. A few of us had a go. Then I left the room and return with one of the bigger semi automatic Nerf guns. Pretending to be a psycho and much to the kids amusement, I started shooting said Nerf gun.

Having run out of ammo, I left the room to reload. This time when I came back, all the kids, laughing, did a reasonably good job of running for cover.

All this was harmless play.

But afterwards a thought occurred to me. There have been far too many tragic incidents where the shooter was not someone entertaining the kids in Nerf combat, but a real psycho with a real gun.

This got me to thinking. Can kids be educated to give themselves the best possible chance in the event of a real attack, simply by playing mock attacks with harmless Nerf guns or similar? Would it be possible to instill the sense of calm urgency needed to do the right thing in a genuinely terrify situation without getting all serious and grown up about it during a Saturday after play session? Would it even make any difference? After all, there is a massive difference between a dad firing very low velocity foam bullets and a genuine psycho with a genuine weapon.

Any thoughts?

As an aside, a friend of mine used to use a toy pellet gun to train mugging defences and disarms at his karate school.

sensei8
KF Sensei
KF Sensei

Styles: Shindokan Saitou-ryu [Shuri-te/Okinawa-te based]

PostPosted: Sat Jul 21, 2018 7:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Excellent OP; thanks for starting this thread/topic, OneKickWonder!!

Quote: