Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KarateForums.com Forum Index -> General Martial Arts Discussion
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

tatsujin
Orange Belt
Orange Belt

Styles: Ryusei-ha Ryukyu Kempo Karate-jutsu

PostPosted: Thu Oct 21, 2021 9:23 am    Post subject: Share your funny stories! Reply with quote

So...this may not apply to everyone (due to your time in the martial arts, etc.). But I thought it might be interesting for folks to share (or comment!) on some funny stories that they have from the martial arts training. After almost 50 years, I have got a literal TON of them.

So, I'll start it off...let's see if anyone is interested.

So, way back in the day, I studied Shotokan (ended up with a Yondan and Renshi license before I moved on). It was through the old KAH or Karate Association of Hawaii that was, at the time, run by Kenneth Funakoshi. Anyway, this was probably around 1980 or so (yes, I am OLD). Our dojo was small and ROUGH...and I do mean ROUGH (ever been put through a window with a side thrust kick? LOL!). We were very small and trained in an old house converted to a dojo. One night as we were wrapping up our last class of the night (advanced class), a young fellow came into the dojo and he was carrying a pair of "Bruce Lee num-chucks".

I all them "Bruce Lee num-chucks" as they were the bright yellow with black stripes (and attached by a chain) that were made to look like the pair Bruce Lee used in Game of Death. And "num-chucks" is how the kid pronounced it (and when I said kid, he was like 20 or 22).