Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KarateForums.com Forum Index -> Choosing a Martial Art, Comparing Styles, and Cross-Training
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

sperki
Blue Belt
Blue Belt

PostPosted: Tue Oct 25, 2011 12:24 pm    Post subject: shotokan / wing chun comparison Reply with quote

I recently won a 15-week intro to Wing Chun package from a local joint. I'm going to be giving it a whirl, but my background is in Shotokan karate. I know what karate is like: short, fast, hard strikes. I picture kung fu as being sort of flowing, almost dance like. I would love some insight from folks in the know so I can prepare myself mentally prior to arrival. Honestly, I'm a little nervous; I'm a pre-middle-aged dude that's always leaned toward Okinawan MA's. But maybe this old dog will learn a new trick.

tallgeese
Black Belt
Black Belt

Styles: Brazilian Jiu Jitsu, Bujin Bugei Jutsu, Gokei Ryu Kempo Jutsu, MMA, Shootfighting, boxing, kickboxing, JKD, Pekiti Tersia Kali

PostPosted: Tue Oct 25, 2011 4:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It really depends on what form of Kung Fu you end up in. It's become an even more generic term for fighting arts out of a given country (China in this case) than karate has for the numerous systems out of Japan and Okinawa.

I occasionally worked out with a guy in college that was a Kung Fu stylist and aside from some circular hip work and stepping patters, all of his strikes were very linear and what one might "hard style"

Check out the local flavor and see how it sits with you. If nothing else it will give you an appreciation for arts that are out of the box from your familiar set.

Wastelander
KF Sensei
KF Sensei

Styles: Shorin-Ryu, Shuri-Ryu, Judo, KishimotoDi

PostPosted: Tue Oct 25, 2011 6:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote