Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

scohen0300
Blue Belt
Blue Belt

Styles: Matsubayashi Shorin Ryu

PostPosted: Tue Sep 01, 2020 8:30 pm    Post subject: Switching from Chito Ryu to Isshin Ryu! Reply with quote

Just kinda feel like sharing this in case anyone can relate. I received my Shodan in Shorin Ryu and due to work, wasn’t able to train at a dojo until the beginning of 2020 when I lost my job as a yoga teacher (my classes were all during karate classes). At the beginning of 2020, I had to move and started training in Chito Ryu around the time I got back into college.

I was told to learn as much of their system as I could, remaining a white belt, and eventually they’d test me on what I picked up with the possibility of jumping straight to Shodan. I thought that was cool, and I really didn’t mind being a white belt for awhile. However, as the months went by, I started learning more about the dojo I was training at...

The instructors are out of shape. No big deal, as I know plenty of instructors that are out of shape but have a wealth of knowledge to share. That’s what I thought these teachers were like - and don’t get me wrong, they’re plenty knowledgeable. But they have the attitudes of an irritated child. Let me explain!

1. Initially, you think they’re just tough on you. But over the course of 8 months or so, I not once heard them encourage or congratulate one of their students. Never giving any positive feedback, only pointing out what was wrong and needed work.
2. They only have one way of teaching everything. If you can’t understand what they’re saying the first time, instead of trying to say it or teach it differently, they get frustrated and walk away.