Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KarateForums.com Forum Index -> TKD, TSD, Hapkido, and Korean Martial Arts
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

Hokie6260
White Belt
White Belt

PostPosted: Tue Feb 26, 2013 6:47 am    Post subject: Tang Soo Do Reply with quote

I am pretty new to the martial arts scene (hence my first post on this forum) but have always been intrigued. Now at age 34 i decide better not wait too long!

I found a gym that teaches Gracie Combatives, which is something I was really interested in and the number one art I was looking for. However, this particular dojo also offers Tang Soo Do from an accomplished Master.

Is this style of Karate a repetable one? I had never heard of it prior to starting my training at this Dojo. I really want to learn Karate as well, but don't want to have to go to 2 different Dojo's to accomplish training in both arts.

I appreciate any advice!

bassaiguy
Orange Belt
Orange Belt

Styles: Shotokan

PostPosted: Tue Feb 26, 2013 8:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tang Soo Do (aka Moo Duk Kwan and Soo Bahk Do) is the Korean version of Japanese karate. It's a very popular style. It's roots are in the Shotokan and, to a lesser extent, the Shito-ryu traditions. Although some of the terminology you learn may be Korean instead of Japanese, the techniques are very similar. Your forms may be nearly identical to Japanese kata or may differ depending on which branch of Tang Soo Do your club is associated with. Some clubs use the older (Japanese-style) forms, while other groups have some newer kata created over the past fifty years. High level Tang Soo Do people may have some forms that include Chang Chuan and Tai Chi Chuan influences from Chinese martial arts.

If you're worried you're not learning real karate I wouldn't sweat it, Tang Soo Do is Korean karate.

http://oronokarate.weebly.com

Harkon72
Black Belt
Black Belt