Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    KarateForums.com Forum Index -> Instructors and School Owners
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

three60roundhouse
Pre-Black Belt
Pre-Black Belt

PostPosted: Thu Aug 15, 2002 9:58 am    Post subject: Teaching Children Reply with quote

Hey! I love the new forum! Anyway, my TKD school has a small problem - two of the instructors who teach children at my school - a black belt and a brown belt - are not going to be teaching in September (one is moving, the other going back to college). I have been helping out at my dojang as an assistant for about six months for free (tying belts, lining kids up, keeping order, holding sheilds for them to kick, etc.) My instructor just offered me a job which would make me like the youngest paid kids instructor (non black belt) ever at our school! I'm only 15, and a high red belt. I would just like some tips on keeping order when doing things such as running warmups, checking forms, etc. The problem is the age of the kids....they don't see me as a figure of authority. In fact, they would probably listen to a 30 year old white belt than to me, a 15 year old girl. At my first class the other day, it weas small and there were only about 6 kids, they made a joke out of calling me sir! How would you go about reprimanding these kids? With pushups? Or no game at the ned of class? Or telling one of the head instructors? Any help would be great!! Oh! I should tell you the age of the kids....the "Tiny Tots" is mostly 4 year olds, and the "Kids" is ages 5-10 usually, though as you move up into the more advanced classes, you see more 11, 12, 13 year olds.

Thanks for the tips!

Girls kick butt!

benedictbm
Orange Belt
Orange Belt

PostPosted: Thu Aug 15, 2002 11:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote