Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    KarateForums.com Forum Index -> General Martial Arts Discussion
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

AnonymousOne
Red Belt
Red Belt

PostPosted: Sun Jan 27, 2002 11:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have been training for 29 years. Yes no breaks, every week, every year. Today I train 6 days aweek. No I am not into contest, I just love Karate and fitness. I run, I work weights, I do all sorts of exercises. I train in the Dojo once a week at the Dan grade lessons. The rest I do myself and they are harder than the dojo by design.

The Japanese are really into heritage and culture. To change the Kata or create new ones is blasphemy.

But... as one examines the Kata and forms of many different martial arts, one starts to wonder. Shotokan have some beautiful Kata, GojuRyu's Kata are great but are completely different. If someone practised a Goju Kata and another a Shotokan Kata with the same amount of diligence and time, would one be more superior in skill than the other? Does the Kata make the man or does the man make the Kata?

To me Kata are just a serious of fighting techniques put into a pattern like a manual so the techniques can be passed down and not forgotten. This is a good thing in many respects. However in many cases one has no freedom of expression in Karate, you have to follow a set pattern, as set system with no ability to change anything. Or you are labelled a heretic.

Out of sheer interest over these many years I have learnt forms or Kata's from many different martial arts. Gung Fu, Karate, Jujitsu and even a strange little chinaman that lives down the road to me who has no name for what he does. "Just fighting" he says.