Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KarateForums.com Forum Index -> Health and Fitness
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

Struggling_Mudansha
Yellow Belt
Yellow Belt

PostPosted: Mon Aug 14, 2017 7:32 pm    Post subject: Weird pain from punching the Makiwara... Reply with quote

I've been conditioning my hands for maki training for the past three months. A week ago, I started experiencing this sharp, needle-like pain in my left index finger knuckle. Now it hurts really bad when I apply pressure to the knuckle (like I'm getting stung by a bee) and there's even a little swelling around the area.

I think I pinched or busted a nerve and I haven't done any conditioning since. I'm wondering if it'll ever go away or if I've permanently damaged it.

Anyone else experience anything like this?

Nidan Melbourne
KF Sempai
KF Sempai

Styles: Goju-Ryu, BJJ, Balintawak Arnis

PostPosted: Tue Aug 15, 2017 12:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Personally I haven't experienced such a problem, as where my club is located we can't have a Makiwara nor can our new location have one due to our Landlord not approving one.

I'd recommend that you speak to your GP to get it checked out, because it can lead to long term problems if you don't. As I know a few people who have ignored such a problem, and they have suffered from worse injuries than what it started off as.

singularity6
Pre-Black Belt
Pre-Black Belt

Styles: Jidokwan Taekwondo and Hapkido, Yoshokai Aikido, ZNIR Iaido, Kendo

PostPosted: Tue Aug 15, 2017 6:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quit the makiwara for now and talk to your physician. My experience says "weird pain" is a bad sign in general. What you're describing makes me think you could have chipped some bone.

(Never officially tested in aikido, iaido or kendo)

Wastelander
KF Sensei
KF Sensei

Styles: Shorin-Ryu, Shuri-Ryu, Judo, KishimotoDi