Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    KarateForums.com Forum Index -> Choosing a Martial Art, Comparing Styles, and Cross-Training
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

Drunken_Apprentice
Yellow Belt
Yellow Belt

Styles: aikido, diplomacy, not being there

PostPosted: Fri Feb 07, 2003 7:41 pm    Post subject: Well rounded self defense Reply with quote

Hello all - I'm a new guy so if this isn't the right forum, let me know. I've been training in aikido for the last 5 years and have my 3rd kyu. My sensei teaches it with a focus on self defense (which is the primary reason I'm there), so I can see its pracitcality in terms of balance, centering, projection, etc. However, I have a few concerns:

Atemi training - O Sensei apparently said that (90?)% of aikido is atemi, yet we don't focus on the striking aspect in class. Many people come into the dojo with prior striking art experience, but this is my only art.

Ground competency - Aikido is primarily standing / kneeling "grappling" type work, but we've never focused on what to do if we get taken to the ground. I certainly don't want to focus any fight there because of the possibility of multiple attackers and unknown terrain, but I sure would like an idea of how to handle myself there if the need arises!

The reason why I'm posting here and not in the aikido forum is because I'd like to round out my focus in terms of effective self defense and need some advice in how to do that. I'm considering taking Wing Chun to get a good base in striking / blocking / entering / contact sensitivity. All good.