Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KarateForums.com Forum Index -> Choosing a Martial Art, Comparing Styles, and Cross-Training
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

Grand master K
White Belt
White Belt

PostPosted: Sun Feb 27, 2011 11:22 am    Post subject: what martial art should i choose? Reply with quote

Hello!

I am new to http://www.karateforums.com and I am 13 years old. I'm from Sweden and I have a question. Which martial art should I start? I want to start a martial art with kicks, throws, punches, vulnerabilities and also in arms when I get to about blue belt. I've been thinking about Krav Maga, Ninjutsu, Kung Fu, Hapkido, jujitsu and Muay Thai. Right now I do not know what to begin. I am looking for tips.om you want to know something just give a question. thanks for the help!

ps1
Black Belt
Black Belt

Styles: Chuan Fa, Shotokan, JJJ, BJJ

PostPosted: Sun Feb 27, 2011 3:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm quite partial to Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu.

tallgeese
Black Belt
Black Belt

Styles: Brazilian Jiu Jitsu, Bujin Bugei Jutsu, Gokei Ryu Kempo Jutsu, MMA, Shootfighting, boxing, kickboxing, JKD, Pekiti Tersia Kali

PostPosted: Sun Feb 27, 2011 4:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Me too, ps1, but it doesn't quite fit his parameters.

First up, welcome aboard, K! As to what you're looking for- kicks, punches, weapons work... you could look to see what Okinawan arts are in your area. Most traditional arts will do at least the basic weapons of that lineage. I have no, and I mean zero experience with Ninijitsu, maybe worth looking into as well although I think authenticity will be an issue.