Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    KarateForums.com Forum Index -> Choosing a Martial Art, Comparing Styles, and Cross-Training
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

001Bonko
White Belt
White Belt

PostPosted: Tue Apr 09, 2002 5:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i am very new to the MA and was wondering which MA would be best for me. i was thinking tae kwon do since i cant kick very high at all and ive heard that it deals with a lot of kicking so should i get into that or would it be harder for me since i cannot kick very good

Pacificshore
Black Belt
Black Belt

Styles: Chinese Kenpo/Kara-Ho Kempo

PostPosted: Tue Apr 09, 2002 6:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What I would suggest is that you look into the many different styles of martial arts in your area. Just because you can't kick well dose not mean that you have to only take TKD. Practically any martial art can teach you to kick!! What you want to do is look for a dojo that you feel comfortable in and with the instructor. If you have never trained, then everything you will learn will feel foreign, but don't quit and before you know it, it'll be second nature to ya

tigerstyle18
Orange Belt
Orange Belt

PostPosted: Tue Apr 09, 2002 7:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey, are you interested in learning how to fight well? To get in better shape? For the spiritual aspect of it? WOuld you prefer to strike or grapple? Just some thoughts

rabid hamster
Purple Belt
Purple Belt

PostPosted: Tue Apr 09, 2002 9:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hehe, I just got over picking a MA.. Too many different arts, it was so hard.