Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    KarateForums.com Forum Index -> Instructors and School Owners
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

koreantiger81
Blue Belt
Blue Belt

PostPosted: Sat Jun 22, 2002 8:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, I know Grand Masters have personal lives. I'm an instructor and I used to smoke myself. My growth in Tae kwon Do halted and went downhill, upon getting addicted to cigarettes. I quit now, because I just couldn't grow physically and mentally in my Tae kwon do training while being a prisoner of Nicotine. In addition it was not setting a good example for my students. Although I was a smoker, I feel uneasy that my Grand Master is a hypocrite. He believes in promoting "physical health", and "mental well-being".

[ This Message was edited by: koreantiger81 on 2002-06-23 00:31 ]

Withers M.A.A.
Brown Belt
Brown Belt

PostPosted: Sat Jun 22, 2002 8:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I personally have never smoked or even tried it for that matter. However, I do feel that any instructor should not smoke for the exact reasons you stated. As a Master esp. you should show restraint and strength in saying no to pressure of society.

Pete

Iron Arahat
Red Belt
Red Belt

PostPosted: Sat Jun 22, 2002 9:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Your Master smokes, it's his life. It's not like he's smoking while he teaches (I hope).

I'm sure people here drink, and that can be seen as a negative as well. Do you fault fellow students or masters for having a beer? Not really a big difference.

G95champ
Black Belt
Black Belt

Styles: Shotokan Karate (FSKA)

PostPosted: Sun Jun 23, 2002 12:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Upon becomming a teacher we take it upon ourselves to set a certin example.