Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    KarateForums.com Forum Index -> Kung Fu, JKD, Wing Chun, Tai Chi, and Chinese Martial Arts
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

Sim
White Belt
White Belt

Styles: Jow Ga Kuen and Wing Chun

PostPosted: Mon Jan 26, 2004 11:57 pm    Post subject: Jason Delucia’s Five Animals Reply with quote

For those who don’t know, Jason Delucia is a fighter from the UFC as well as Pancrase who is supposedly a five animal kung fu stylist. Being a kung fu stylist myself, I went to his website to get more info on his martial arts background. I was rather disappointed when I couldn’t find anything that even resembled the five animal form. The five animal form exists in the style I study since Jow Gar is 1/3 Hung Gar, so I know what the five animal techniques look like.

Another point I should make is that the Five Animals form is just that, a form, not a system. Examples of styles with the five animal set are Hung Gar, Fut Gar, Shao Lin Quan and Kempo. But I see no mention of any system like that on his site. What was even more confusing is his five animals are the dragon, snake, crane, tiger and mantis. Every five animal form I know of includes the leopard, not the mantis. In fact the praying mantis is a separate style altogether.

He shows the techniques for the respective animals, but the techniques he shows are all actually jujutsu and NHB techniques. And the positions and stances he shows with the black and white pics don’t look anything like the five animals of Shaolin Kung Fu, or any kung fu style for that matter. It appears the only thing he teaches is Jujutsu and Aikido, why doesn’t he teach the five animals?

Here is a link to what I am writing about. For those of you that also practice a system with the five animals form, please give your thoughts and opinions.