Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KarateForums.com Forum Index -> Martial Arts Weapons
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

onineko42
White Belt
White Belt

Styles: okinawa karate, shorin-ryu

PostPosted: Thu Nov 24, 2011 1:16 am    Post subject: knife kata Reply with quote

First of all, its my first time posting so hello everyone my name is neko!

so I have been involved in martial arts since I was young (ten years off and on now). I recently moved to the inner city from a small town and although I carry mace for self defense I also carry a knife. I have learned the most basic moves for knife self defense for rank requirements but I thoroughly believe no one should carry a weapon they don't truly understand. Can anyone hook me up with a good link to a solid knife kata. I just can't feel comfortable with this weapon unless I am well versed. My martial arts background is varied but mainly okinawan karate.

-Thanks much guys, any help is greatly appreciated!

JusticeZero
Black Belt
Black Belt

Styles: Capoeira Angola

PostPosted: Thu Nov 24, 2011 5:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Point one: Most knife stuff in martial arts is generally agreed upon to be kind've junk, unfortunately. The best approach here is some partner work with a felt pen or similar.

Point two: A knife is a deadly weapon, and using it can easily get you in waaaay over your head, legally. You should probably first go looking for information about self defense law as it pertains to deadly weapons!