Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    KarateForums.com Forum Index -> BJJ, Judo, Jujitsu, Aikido, and Grappling Martial Arts
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

WhiteBelt
Green Belt
Green Belt

PostPosted: Sat Aug 02, 2003 4:01 pm    Post subject: Need help escaping head lock on ground Reply with quote

How do you escape from a head lock when you have somebody in side mount but they have your head and are lying on their side slightly? I got my head in a position that I wouldnt get knocked out and could knee, punch and elbow but couldnt get out of the lock...

Sorry if it sounds confusing. I'm just learning ground fighting here and there in my karate.

Tibby
Purple Belt
Purple Belt

Styles: JuJutsu(Judo), Isshinryu Karate, Boxing, Fencing

PostPosted: Sat Aug 02, 2003 6:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It is kind of hard to get what your taking about, but it sounds like you could just wiggle right out of it. Try getting into a full mount. If you can’t, just them in a side quarter hold. If that still doesn’t work, put a choke on him. There are plenty of things you can do in this position. From what you described, it sounds like a pretty sloppy hold he has you in. Seems like you are the one with the upper hand.

TJS
Black Belt
Black Belt

Styles: boxing, Thai boxing, BJJ,

PostPosted: Sat Aug 02, 2003 7:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have been show two diffrent ways...one when they are leaning forward putting pressure on you and one when they are leaning back..If you cross face then and get their head back...You can use you leag to wrap around their head and pull them off...hard to descipe the technique in writing though.,.

wiz cool c
White Belt
White Belt

PostPosted: Sat Aug 02, 2003 8:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote