Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    KarateForums.com Forum Index -> Health and Fitness
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

moobrack
Black Belt
Black Belt

PostPosted: Thu May 16, 2002 11:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello All,
This question is aimed mostly towards KickChick but opinions or thoughts from others is much appreciated!

I have been weightlifting now for about 6 months!

I am led to believe that by ripping or tearing uscles, and pushing past the pain, I can encourage excessive muscle growth!

is this true?

Thanx

www.universaldojo.com Coming Soon
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger

Phantasmatic
Purple Belt
Purple Belt

Styles: Goju-Ryu, Shorei-Ryu, Shuri-Ryu, Kobudo, Judo, Shin-Kage Ryu

PostPosted: Thu May 16, 2002 1:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes

KickChick
Black Belt
Black Belt

PostPosted: Thu May 16, 2002 4:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yikes .... here goes!
If an exercise hurts, and you've been performing it using good form with controlled cadence and have tried sensible modifications, drop that exercise. The first rule of exercise selection is "Do no harm" ... don't believe in that "no pain no gain" maxim!
Experiment with new exercises, angles of movement, types of equipment and rep ranges ... this can spur on new growth. Doing faster reps is one way to change up your routine.
Training slow with continuous movement is effective when using heavy weights. Its helps prevent injury and isolates the muscle more.
Pumping out faster reps using slightly less weight is done in an effort to fill the muscle with as much blood as possible and is used to build explosive strength. Changing this back and forth may shock your muscles into growth.
But remember everyone is diff so try both methods and see what works for you!