Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

shortyafter
Orange Belt
Orange Belt

Styles: Kyokushinkai, Shotokan

PostPosted: Sun Sep 24, 2017 2:17 am    Post subject: A new approach to my karate Reply with quote

Hi all. This isn't exactly brand new for me but it is a realization that has been even more profound as of late. I've been training for 3 years now and I find that the way I'm accustomed to generating power is through tensing and brute force. If I'm not as strong as I want to be - just give it more grit and try harder. This is almost like my natural, inexperienced way of being.

But I've found there's another way. The path of total relaxation that allows me to channel power in an efficient, focused way instead of expending all my energy wastefully.

For example, my Sensei gave me a stretching regimen to improve my kicks. I noticed quick progress, but I was out of town for 3 months and continued the same regimen. Every other day, dreading the stretching, and just forcing myself to do it and exerting more energy into the stretch. As you may guess my flexibility did not improve. One day I decided, I would change up the regimen, and stretch from a place of relaxation. Giving my body the chance to expand and grow naturally rather than fighting against my physiology. I would stretch less but in a way that is more agreeable to my mind, body, and spirit. And in just a couple of weeks I am seeing a big difference in my flexibility and the height of my kicks.