Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 30, 31, 32  Next
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

aurik
KF Sempai
KF Sempai

Styles: Shuri-Ryu, Uechi-Ryu

PostPosted: Wed Nov 07, 2018 2:18 pm    Post subject: Cool stuff I learned this week Reply with quote

As I've mentioned in my introductory thread, I studied martial arts for awhile when I was much younger (20-odd years ago). In high school, I attended a Juko-Kai school, where I learned Aiki-jujutsu (black sash) and shorinji kempo (gokyu). After I graduated high school, I studied for a year in central Illinois where I learned shuri-ryu (gokyu), kodokan judo (yonkyu), and some okinawan kobudo (primarily bo and sai). I loved the school and instructor, but had to leave after a year due to work considerations.

Two years ago, my son started at an ATA school, and I figured it would be something I can do with him. However, the school was hit or miss. They had one really good assistant instructor there, but after awhile I became disillusioned with the school. For example, he has a number of 7 year old black belts, and as long as you have time in grade and pay the testing fee, he'll promote you. Heck, my son once couldn't perform the required forms in a testing session. What did he do? He took our money, got one of the higher rank students to work with him for a bit on the techniques, and promoted him anyways.

Well, last year I finished my degree (PhD in Computer Science), and we moved to the Denver area. My son started immediately asking about doing karate again. We eventually found an instructor who would come to his after-school care and taught him. We eventually moved his lessons to the instructor's dojo (which, fortunately for us, is right across the street from his school).