Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KarateForums.com Forum Index -> Choosing a Martial Art, Comparing Styles, and Cross-Training
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

NewLevel
Yellow Belt
Yellow Belt

Styles: Taekwondo, Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu

PostPosted: Sun Jun 25, 2017 1:48 pm    Post subject: Cross Training Karate or BJJ Reply with quote

Hey guys. Just wanted some sound advice here.

I've been a student of Taekwondo for about 8 years now and at a brown belt level. We haven't really had any classes for a few years now due to the busyness of the instructor with his job and our facility where the classes were held had been shut down. Eventually, the instructor might continue to teach and then he may not.

I had some minor injuries over the past few years and honestly was out of practice. I still remember techniques but as far as our forms go and such, I'm completely rusty.

Our TKD style resembles that of Shotokan as far as standing techniques and forms but didn't cover much ground work unless it was your basic armbar or leglock.

We have a local BJJ / Judo / MMA gym near us that is connected to the Gracie's that I have been thinking of joining. They have classes everyday of the week. The instructor and owner of the BJJ gym was trained in TKD under my instructor and received Dan grades under him back 12-15 years ago.

There is the potential that teacher of the BJJ gym could test me for black belt in TKD as well with permission from my instructor.

Honestly, I keep putting off visiting the BJJ gym since I'm a big guy (over 350 pounds at about 6 feet) and 32 years old. I feel I would be the biggest guy in the class amongst other very fit guys and gals. I need to lose the weight though.