Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    KarateForums.com Forum Index -> Karate
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

superleeds
Blue Belt
Blue Belt

Styles: Chito-Ryu Karate-Do

PostPosted: Mon Oct 14, 2002 8:28 am    Post subject: problem Reply with quote

In 6 weeks time I'll have my first test ever. When the instructors look at me, I dont perform as well as I normally do. ( I freak out) Has anyone some tips on how to overcome this psykological problem?

BlueDragon1981
Red Belt
Red Belt

Styles: Goshin Jutsu Karate, Shotokan

PostPosted: Mon Oct 14, 2002 9:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ya..........Learn to chill out. Close your eyes and do your katas. Get used to doing it without thinking they are there. As an instructor I know most of us take in account nerves. Specially for the first couple ranks. By purple belt you should not be freaking (still nervous perhaps, but not freaking out). Main advice is to do it in front of your friends in the dojo and be open to any critisism they give you. Getting mad does not help when you are going up there for your test. The other thing is try to relax and do your best. Basically all you can do anyway.

KickChick
Black Belt
Black Belt

PostPosted: Mon Oct 14, 2002 9:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just remember that everyone has been there .... and knows very well how nervous someone can get performing in front of an audience plus the instructors.
It's easy to say this but, you need to block out the external and concentrate on just you! Take a deep breath .... look straight ahead and do your very best. (Closing your eyes may not be such good advice during test BlueDragon!) Your instructor does take into consideration your "nervousness" at first test and may have you repeat kata or techniques if you screw up.

Good Luck to you

SaiFightsMS
KF VIP