Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

TheNoLifeKing
White Belt
White Belt

PostPosted: Tue Jul 12, 2011 8:50 pm    Post subject: Really want to get into this, but I have a few concerns Reply with quote

Hello everyone,

I really want to get into martial arts and I did take a karate class at my college which I enjoyed. The style was genbu-Kai. While taking the class, I did enjoy it, but I wasn't super dedicated to it. But then I saw a certain piece of media that actualy inspired me to really dedicate myself to it (no, it was not the karate kid). It had a very good message about what martial arts can give you and how it can help you grow.

My only issue is I can never seem to get myself to practice at home. I just think it's going to be too hard or I'll do the techniques wrong. Also, I simply do not know where to practice. The dojo of the style I'm studying is rather far, so I'll have to do it at home or something.

Another worry I have is that the classes I will take have rather large groups of people, so I'm worried that the lack of individual attention will hurt my progress.

And finally I'm mainly worried that ill just give up on it, because I tend to do that with things that are hard.

If I can get some advice from people who do this, that would be great.

Thank you.

Montana
Pre-Black Belt
Pre-Black Belt

Styles: Shorin Ryu Matsumura Kenpo & Kobudo

PostPosted: Tue Jul 12, 2011 10:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It sounds to me that you're really not all that interested in training.

You're looking fior any excuse to NOT train.

Student since January 1975---4th Dan, retired due to non-martial arts related injuries.

Akikazeninja
Yellow Belt
Yellow Belt

Styles: Ninjutsu Jujutsu Taijutsu Commando Krav Maga

PostPosted: Tue Jul 12, 2011 10:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Montana wrote: