Add KarateForums.com
Username:    Password:
Remember Me?    
   I Lost My Password!
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KarateForums.com Forum Index -> Instructors and School Owners
 See a User Guidelines violation? Press on the post.

Rathe
Yellow Belt
Yellow Belt

Styles: Ninjutsu, Kenjutsu, Iaido, Wing Chun

PostPosted: Thu Dec 02, 2004 2:44 pm    Post subject: Sparring Age Reply with quote

I've been teaching adults for going on 5 years now in small classes. I have recently taken on some younger students. I am wondering though, what is a good age to start letting younger people spar. I wasn't honestly going to let them for awhile but I wanted to get some other opinions on this (figure we got this forum for questions just like this). I don't feel young children would gain anything from it unless they truly understood what they were learning. By young I mean 6 - 8.

And before anyone ask, I was trained one on one most of my life with occassionally 1 or 2 other people in the classes. So I can't fall back my experience for this one. Thanks in advance.

RavenX
White Belt
White Belt

Styles: Sullivan's Kenpo Jiujitsu

PostPosted: Thu Dec 02, 2004 2:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Actually, in my opinion, sparring at any age is beneficial. When your 4 it's safe, fun and you LIKE to spar. Also it gives you a good idea of how your using the things you learn in class. 8 - 10 year olds can learn very good self control, and fighting concepts from a sparring experience too. Anything older then that can be taught sparring at the level that you already teach it at.

martialbrown
White Belt
White Belt

PostPosted: Thu Dec 02, 2004 3:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote